Five worlds for Yooka-Laylee, and my concern about them

Discussion and feedback for Playtonic's debut game, platformer adventure game Yooka-Laylee!
MattUmby

Five worlds for Yooka-Laylee, and my concern about them

Postby MattUmby » Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:37 pm

Hello all! This is my first post on the forums, though I've been reading them since last year when the Kickstarter was in full swing.

So, today, on the Playtonic twitter, they announced that they were planning for five worlds in Yooka Laylee. (The tweet can be found here: https://twitter.com/PlaytonicGames/stat ... 1769700352).

I do have a concern, however. Now, do bear in mind, I'm no game developer, but I know just how much hard work is put into games. I'm not gonna ask for miracles, here!

Playtonic have said they believe Yooka Laylee will be bigger than Banjo Kazooie was. I have no doubt in my mind about this, what with the multiplayer modes, bosses on each stage, and expandable levels, but I also worry. The levels expand, but we have no idea what that truly entails, or how worlds will expand. What I worry about is that the levels will either be:

- Too small from the outset, and feel too enclosed/restrictive by not letting players explore, or

- Be too BIG, and overwhelm the player such as the stages in Tooie, which were much larger, full of busywork and backtracking, and tended to fatigue players (looking at you, Grunty Industries.)

I also feel as though (and this is admittedly just an over-eager fan being over-eager, I'm aware) five worlds isn't enough. god that sounds selfish